kaya publishes books of the asian pacific diaspora

 
 
✚Categories
ON

The David Tung Can’t Have A Girlfriend Until He Gets Into An Ivy League College virtual book tour will kick off in style at the Brooklyn Book Festival! Plus more events that you can attend in your PJs!

Friday, Oct 2, 2020 – 4pm PST / 7 pm EST RSVP Here!
Love Vs. Internship: The first big David Tung event, which is part of the Brooklyn Book Festival and co-partnered with the Asian American Writers Workshop and Kundiman, will be on Friday, October 2nd! An official 2020 Brooklyn Book Festival Bookends, Kaya Press brings acclaimed novelist Ed Lin together with pioneering YA author, and co-founder of the Asian American Writers’ Workshop Marie Myung-Ok Lee (Finding My Voice [Soho Teen, 2021 re-release]) in conversation to celebrate the release of Ed Lin’s YA debut, David Tung Can’t Have A Girlfriend Until He Gets Into An Ivy League College (Kaya Press, October 2020). Moderated by Ruth Minah Buchwald, Ed Lin and Marie Lee’s dialogue will orbit themes, such as: Asian American study culture; the pitfalls of the “model minority” myth and how to challenge it; multiple standards and (mis)representations of Asian Americans in literature and the media; and coming-of-age in the Asian American diaspora while navigating relationships through race, class, young love, not to mention the confusing expectations of immigrant parental pressure.

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2020
Ed Lin interview available on Fresh Off the Broke.
Tiffany and Rhianna from Fresh Off the Broke reviews David Tung Can’t Have a Girlfriend Until He Gets Into an Ivy League College and discusses classism between immigrants, mental health in Asian communities, and much more with Ed Lin!

The events at these local bookstores will be viewable from everywhere for the first time!

Friday, Oct 30, 2020 – 3pm PST / 6pm EST RSVP Here!
Ed Lin and Lilliam Rivera with Lo’Mas Lit Book Club at Word Up Community Bookshop in New York.

Join us for a book reading and discussion of Ed Lin’s debut YA novel David Tung Can’t Have A Girlfriend Until He Gets Into An Ivy League College and Lilliam Rivera’s new YA novel: Never Look Back. Both books are set in New York City and New Jersey — specifically focused on Chinatown and The Bronx. 

Sunday, Nov 1, 2020 – 2:30PM PDT / 5:30PM EDT RSVP Here!
Ed Lin and Chris Terry with Skylight Books in Los Angeles.

 

Friday, Nov 6, 2020 – 6PM PDT / 9PM EDT RSVP here!
Ed Lin and Naomi Hirahara with Vroman’s Bookstore in Pasadena.

 

Monday, Nov 30th, 4:30pm PST / 7:30pm EST
Asian American YA Authors / Then & Now!
Kaya authors Ed Lin and R. Zamora Linmark will be in conversation with Rachelle Cruz in an exciting collaboration with The Digital Sala, UCLA Asian American Studies Department, Loyola Marymount University Asian American Studies Department, CSU San Marcos Ethnic Studies, and CSU San Marcos Common Road.

📚 Remember to RSVP for event info! 🖋️

 

David Tung Can’t Have a Girlfriend Until He Gets Into an Ivy League College is the first official young adult novel from Ed Lin, author of the acclaimed novels Waylaid and This Is a Bust. David Tung is a Chinese American high-school student in an upscale, Asian-majority, New Jersey suburb who works every day at his family’s restaurant and strategizes every homeroom about how to improve his class rank so he can get into an Ivy League college. His only release? Hanging with his “real” friends once a week at Chinese school in NYC’s working-class Chinatown. But when the pretty and popular Christina Tau asks him to a high school dance, David’s tightly regimented life gets thrown into a tailspin—especially since, as his mother likes to remind him, he’s not allowed to have a girlfriend! Should he defy his mother and go to the dance? Or defy Christina’s wishes and spend Saturday night studying for the MCATs? And how is he going to explain all this to Betty Jung, the standout pupil from Chinese School whose opinion he can’t help but care about? Ed Lin’s YA-novel debut takes on coming-of-age in the Asian diaspora with a heartwarming and humorous exploration of race, class, young love, and the contradictory expectations of immigrant parents.

David Tung Can’t Have a Girlfriend Until He Gets Into an Ivy League College will be published on October 28th, 2020. Order your copy today!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We'd love to know what you think.

 
 
 
 

“The most consistent intelligent wide-ranging committed press I know – Kaya is an example of how to turn ‘small’ books into literary arrows that shoot straight and true into the heart of our culture and (of course) ourselves.”

— Junot Díaz